Lets just deny science.

Every now and then I stumble across something on facebook that actually catches my attention and today it was Neil deGrasse Tyson.   A few years ago I had seen Neil here and there on TV but he never caught my attention until I watched the show Cosmos that aired on Fox for 1 year before they realized it was a show on facts and not fantasy and it got cancelled.    But in those 10 episodes or so I discovered that Tyson is actually a very good presenter.  I really have no idea how good of a scientist he is but he knows how to teach and relate to the common man.   Carl Sagan was a man who I really liked back in the day and I wonder what he would have to say today about global warming and the denial of all science.

carl-sagan

Words of warning, from Carl Sagan in 1995, who was one of Neil’s heroes.
“When awesome technological powers are in the hands of a very few, and no one representing the public interest can even grasp the issues; when the people have lost the ability to set their own agendas or knowledgeably question those in authority; when, clutching our crystals and nervously consulting our horoscopes, our critical faculties in decline, unable to distinguish between what feels good and what’s true, we slide, almost without noticing, back into superstition and darkness.”

Tyson put out a very similar warning today in this video message;  https://youtu.be/8MqTOEospfo

It’s a powerful 4 minute clip that people should watch and really think about it.   I’m pretty picky with who I have as friends on facebook but even I have at least 1 person who is a hard core anti-vaccinator,  several who are major Trump supporters, a couple who think “god” did it all and evolution is a fantasy and several who think that global warming is just a normal process that the earth goes through and we have nothing to do with it.  Or they just don’t give a fuck because “we won’t need to deal with it”.

500x1000px-LL-5503b12b_U2Jto4M

I see their posts and I just roll my eyes and carry on but when you sit back and think about it, should we really ignore this?  But these people are completely over the top and changing their minds just doesn’t seem to be possible.   If these people are that pig headed how are we ever going to change things if these people get into the positions of power or persuasion?  How many people have Trump and Pence swayed?  What about all the countries that have massive populations and no money to make the changes?  Like China and India.  Not to mention a population who has never even heard of global warming and have no idea why their villages are going underwater.  Their village is underwater so we in the industrial world can have the newest cars and flat screen TV’s.

I could go on and on but I’m just getting more and more depressed.   Neil’s video says it all except how to fix the problem.   How do we overcome ignorance?   Is this world really fucked?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

